Australia Area Codes

Australia uses eight digit local phone numbers preceded by a two digit STD area code.

Area codes
Area code Region State or territory Capital city
02 Central East New South Wales, Australian Capital Territory Sydney, Canberra
03 South East Victoria, Tasmania Melbourne, Hobart
04 Mobile telephones Australia-wide  
07 North East Queensland Brisbane
08 Central and West Western Australia, South Australia, Northern Territory Perth, Adelaide, Darwin
1300 Business Line
1800 Business Line

Parts of regional New South Wales may also use the 08 and 03 area codes. Parts of regional Victoria may use the 02 area code